Veerendra Kumar awarded K. Chandrasekharan Memorial award

M.P Veerendra Kumar was presented with the seventh K. Chandrasekharan Memorial Award for his contribution to the nation as a socialist.

Former Kerala chief minister Oommen Chandy presented the award, instituted by Kasargod-based Chandrasekharan Memorial Trust, in memory of socialist leader K. Chandrasekharan.

“Chandrasekharan was a true socialist leader who treated both his supporters as well as opponents equally and I see his qualities in Veerendra Kumar,” he said.

Chandy said Veerendra Kumar is a multi-faceted personality, who has made his contributions to the nation as a socialist, parliamentarian and administrator.

The Congress leader also presented the winner with a purse of Rs 11,111 and a plaque.

A Rajya Sabha member, Veerendra Kumar served thrice as Press Trust of India (PTI) Chairman and is at present a Director in the premier news agency.

He is also the Kerala unit president of Janata Dal (United).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Make Correct Pattern to CommentWordPress CAPTCHA