M.P Veerendra Kumar presented Moortidevi Award

Eminent Malayalam author and journalist M.P Veerendra Kumar was presented the 30th Moortidevi award by Bharatiya Jnanpith organisation.

Veerendra Kumar was chosen for the prestigious award for his Malayalam travelogue ‘Hymavathabhoovil’, which dwells upon ancient trails of Indian culture, myth, literature and people strewn in the plains, valleys and mountains of India”.

The award was presented by Jnanpith laureate M.T Vasudevan Nair at a function at the Tagore Centenary Hall here in Kozhikode.

The book also highlights environmental concerns over “fragile mountain ecosystem” and calls for action over lack of water resources and waste disposal systems.

Veerendra Kumar, who earlier won the Sahitya Akademi award for the same book, is also the Kerala state unit President of Janata Dal (United).

A prolific writer and an eminent entrepreneur, Veerendra Kumar is Chairman and Managing Director of the Malayalam daily Mathrubhumi and a Rajya Sabha MP. He has served thrice as the chairman of the Press Trust of India (PTI) and is currently a director in the news agency.

Moortidevi award, which is presented annually for “contemplative and perceptive work”, consists of a Saraswati statue, a citation plaque and cash award of Rs four lakh.

The award is given annually for books written in all Indian languages besides English pertaining to Indian philosophy.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Make Correct Pattern to CommentWordPress CAPTCHA