K. Sivan named new ISRO chairman

The government appointed renowned scientist K. Sivan as the chairman of Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) to replace AS Kiran Kumar.

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet approved his appointment as secretary, Department of Space and chairman of Space Commission for a tenure of three years, an order issued by the personnel ministry said.

Sivan, at present Director of Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, will succeed Kiran Kumar, who was appointed on January 12, 2015.

Sivan joined the ISRO in 1982 in PSLV project and has contributed immensely towards end to end mission planning, mission design, mission integration and analysis.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Make Correct Pattern to CommentWordPress CAPTCHA