DYFI opens doors for transgenders

The Democratic Youth Federation of India (DYFI), the youth wing of the CPI(M), has inducted nine members of the transgender community into the organisation as part of its efforts to bring the marginalised section into mainstream politics.

The newly set up PMG unit committee of DYFI in Thiruvananthapuram has 11 members, nine of them are trangenders.

It is the first unit of the outfit in the country to have opened doors for the transgenders, sources in the DYFI said.

The party also added a third gender column in its membership form, the sources said.

At a function held on Saturday to welcome the new members, Transgender Justice Board member and artist Surya Abhilash was elected as the president of the unit.

Besides Surya, Shyama S. Prabha, Sandhya Rajesh, Asma, Keerthi, Vaishnavi, Achu, Diya and Abhi were the other transgender members of the unit.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Make Correct Pattern to CommentWordPress CAPTCHA