BJP looking forward to expand base in North East: Rudy

The BJP said it will add Meghalaya, Tripura, Karnataka and Nagaland to the list of states where the party is in power.

From nine states in 2009, the saffron party has now formed government in 19 states, senior BJP leader Rajiv Pratap Rudy told.

“We are going to add more states to that list it will start from Meghalaya, Tripura, Karnataka and Nagaland,” Rudy said.

Meghalaya is set to go to polls on February 27 and the results will be announced on March 3.

The BJP has fielded candidates in 47 of the 60 seats in Meghalaya, while its ally at the Centre, the National Peoples’ Party (NPP), is contesting alone in 53 seats.

Rudy expressed confidence that the saffron party will get a majority in the coming elections.

“We don’t believe in fractured mandate. Do not get surprised by my confidence, I have been handling elections for last 30 years. We are confident of forming government in Meghalaya,” he said.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Make Correct Pattern to CommentWordPress CAPTCHA